Poets logo

The Unwanted Dark

The mind’s recess

By Michael BPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

A strange Dream I had one night,

Invaded by an eerie light,

The hairs of my neck stood alert,

And all I could do was stand inert.

My voice inside my head spoke out,

Instructing of hope that I was without,

It said I'd be the one to cave,

To a force that I could not brave.

My eyes were wide and full of fear,

My heart beat faster with each tear,

My steps were light, my breath was shallow,

My mind was racing, I had no follow.

I traveled through this world unknown,

Where secrets lurked behind each stone,

People I met, I could not trust,

Their minds were gone, consumed by lust.

The people I met, they all did seem,

To be taken by an unknown dream,

Their minds were filled with thoughts of desire,

And a sultry darkness that filled them with fire.

They were searching to find a cure,

For the darkness that was not pure,

But all they found was regretful despair,

And a sadness that lingered in the air.

The voice pulled me away and beyond,

It was insistent, that I not despond.

It bade me that I must be saved,

From the force that I had braved.

The path was long and treacherous

But the only way to bolt from this world so lecherous.

The only way to end this strange dream,

And awake in the morning beam.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michael B

A left brained guy with a long running notion to do right brained things. I’m only hoping to become better at it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.