Poets logo

The Undersound

Beneath the breath

By Jjenni Dagnelli Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The Undersound

Today I am not ok

But I’m not ok everyday

I might say that I am

Cause I know no one understands

But no

I’m never ok

The demons I battle aren’t kept inside

They have flesh and mouths and lively mocking eyes

They live and they breathe just the same as you and I

So I hide

Beneath the words of poetic phases

They can keep you guessing while you travel through it’s mazes

Looking but never seeing any of the real faces

Only an exterior to fill in the spaces

You see these monsters I live with they even have names

They walk and they talk and they all look the same

They live with me but they live with some of you too

So here we all sit no one knowing what to do

Holding on just to hold it together

But all that it is, is pain that seems to last forever

It pulls and it screams

It haunts all your dreams

Cause no matter how you look at it, nothing is ever what it seems

It gets twisted and mangled

Ripped apart where it’s left to dangle

Falling to the floor with lifeless lungs crying out as they are strangled

Taking away all that is good and leaving you to lay there the way no one should

I’d go if I could

It’s easy to look the other way, when all the words are the ones that I have to say

Heads turning just to the left

Eyes broken from that thing in your chest

But pain, it is real

It lets you know there’s still something left to feel

A beating heart making room for a meal

Decks of cards handed out with nothing left to deal

Empty chairs with the paint beginning crack and peal

Fresh jars of jam with a broken seal

It also reminds you that there’s parts that still need to heal

It rips me open but there’s nothing left inside

They have taken every last piece and broken it with pride

As if the destruction of another human being has become some kind of archived prize.

Playing games with someone’s mind till nothing is left alive

There’s no more of a hollow feeling inside than the look in someone’s eyes, smiling at your demise, watching as you slowly die

There’s nothing left inside

artheartbreaksurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jjenni Dagnelli

the poetry beneath your skin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.