Poets logo

The Unconscious Process

What truth is hidden behind your eyes?

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Within the cold, wet, dreary night,

I open my eyes to the power of the subconscious mind.

Closing my eyes in order to see,

A warped, twisted world that sets my lonely subconscious free.

The melted clock on the wall assures me there is no such thing as time,

As the bells of silence rejoice this broken paradigm.

A statue looks down on me and begins smiling,

Her warm features telling me I'm safe - but she is lying.

I continue the journey whilst picking up the small, decadent pieces. Much like Hansel and Gretel.

Choosing to ignore that each ghastly bite tastes like tasteless metal.

The seagulls squark in anger and the jellyfish fail to stand,

The sharks pass their judgement and exile me to the land.

To forget their misjustice I wash them away with whiskey as I pray for the cold air to hit my lungs.

For it is now I know that I am drowning, as I hear the crowd speak in tongues.

Questioning the need to see through the windows of the soul;

When perhaps we are safest gazing through the humble peep-hole.

As I wake in the morning, still dreary and my hair speaks of mess,

I am truly awakened by the power of the unconscious process.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.