Poets logo

The Unbroken Spirit

A Tribute to My People

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Unbroken Spirit
Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

My people had the strength

My people had the might

It's in their veins traveling

Through their blood.

My people are strong

My people are one

The unbreakable soul

It's spirit making them

Unbridled.

We were chosen not for

Our color but our strength.

Scientific and historic

Our bonds made by men

Because we were the strongest

And still powerful. They knew

That with knowledge we will

Have all we needed to conquer

So they corrupted that knowledge

But our souls knew the truth as the good book really says.

So my people, my strong people, my long-suffering people, we are strong.

We are one. We are tough. Our past proves this and our knowledge we know and can accept is unstoppable. We can do anything. So my people, own yourself and your power by doing the impossible.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.