Poets logo

The Two Strong Women of King Street

My great grandmother and great aunt (Mormor and Aunt Sandy)

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Hung in the home on King Street

So many

From one to the next

So many houses

Not homes

Never a home

Home was not something I knew

But I always said “going home”

But I never meant it

Never really knew

I didn’t have a home

Home was not something I knew

I hoped I would someday

So young, then growing older

But growing older doesn’t mean growing up

Growing up happens differently

http://www.drawingskill.com/art/27580

Home was not something I knew

I grew up when I was young

Long before I had grown to this age

An age at which I find

There was a place I could call home

Home was not something I knew

But I was blind

Now I see there was a home

A house that felt safe

A home where I could go

https://www.vectorstock.com/royalty-free-vector/helping-hands-on-red-heart-vector-8304292

They were two strong women

They held me close

A mother and daughter I’d always known

They taught me, they loved me

But then back to a different place

They were two strong women

But they couldn’t hold me long

Back to my mother and father

Back to the house I felt unsafe

Another address, another phone number

They were two strong women

I hold them in my heart

Forever they’ll remain

Forever I will cherish

Forever I have a home

They were two strong women

But one could no longer hold on

Her loss, a devastating blow

Her touch, never to be felt again

Her love, stayed there

They were two strong women

Now just one left behind

A daughter to grieve her mother

But the love held on

The love that made it a home

I was one weak boy

I needed to be held

I wanted to be held

I was one weak boy

I had a home

I couldn’t stay

I became one strong man

I knew a home

I was safe

I became one strong man

I am here thanks to them

I love those two strong women

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.