Poets logo

The Twins of Despair

The place that we realize that no two can be tethered together.

By David FournierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Who speaks to me in this eternal echo?

I was not born with you but you’ve always been there.

A growth that has gained unwarranted strength.

Feasting on what I do not possess.

But I’ve seen you before, when all other lights go out.

You are incompatible with what I know to be true.

Yet you provide a twisted sense of comfort at too frequent of times.

Our meeting place is at the bottom ledge.

The purity of oblivion.

But you always allow for the blue light to pierce through.

I have found my certainty now.

No longer will I give you power.

I can always visit with you if I want.

We will forever need each other.

But my ability to climb has been unleashed.

You and I think exactly alike, just never at the same time.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

David Fournier

I am a writer, poet and performance artist. My whole life I have loved the beauty of words, whether I'm writing them into a narrative or using them to make silly voices. I am poised to publish my first book and kids series.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.