Poets logo

The Truth of Dreams

A poem brought forth by a "bad" dream.

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
The Truth of Dreams
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I woke from the night’s rest, morning light warming sleepy eyes.

I untangled the sheets, sitting up to

approach the bedroom door

when I saw the face appear

deeply etched in the threshold,

alive beneath shadows, it’s mouth opening wide, threatening a painful bite

if I dared turn the knob.

I wielded a can of black paint, carefully scrawling the word “BETRAYED” over the face,

covering the screaming mouth;

not a permanent solution, but one that would hold long enough

to avoid the bitter bite, to turn the doorknob, to let myself out of this room,

to hurry downstairs.

I found another door at the base of the stairs.

Opening it revealed three sardonically happy ladies sitting primly on the furniture;

“Good Morning, Dear!”

I heard as the first woman outstretched her arms

to receive a hearty hug.

I stepped forward to return the expected embrace,

but as I leaned in I saw the superficial grin

widening to show sharp teeth growing

as the other two women sat by silenly, watching

greedily with shining green eyes.

I stepped back quickly enough

to avoid the life-sucking grasp,

I turned sharply and left the room,

leaving the women to themselves.

I found my dogs at my heel while stepping outside,

through another door,

into the fresh air

where I could breathe.

The sound was pure as I exhaled a silent sob.

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test12 months ago

    Surreal and compelling, very dreamlike. Well done!👏Pernoste

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    This nicely describes the action and excitement of dreams. There's a vague line between realism and surrealism and I think you nailed it! I love this!

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    This was a whirlwind. Very much the feeling of heightening emotions and thrills in a dream, especially in the kind where it seems you are running from an inescapable threat that presents itself at every turn. This really played well into the rhythm of your poem. I loved it.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is fabulous. Well done.

  • Poetry is a great way of documenting scary dreams like this one

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.