Poets logo

The Trickster

Accept my Fate

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
14

I have a trickster laying quietly

Somewhere hidden in my head,

When he thinks its time to play

Is when I'm climbing into bed!!!

***

He quietly resides inside

Not a peep throughout the day,

But laying down my weary head

And out he comes to play!!!

***

The sun has disappeared

And my day is done,

I lay and close my eyes

But out he comes for fun!!!

***

My trickster steals my happy memories

Then opens the door wide,

He throws in every stress and worry

From which I've tried to hide!!!

***

I know not to trust either

The thoughts or memories he shows,

But he ensures sleep is elusive

By cunningly showing my woes!!!

***

So I open my eyes

And sit up straight,

I hear my trickster laugh

As I accept my fate!!!

***********************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    Great words and love that image, briliant work

  • Awww this was so cute!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.