Poets logo

The Toronto Maple Leafs Haiku

A Canadian weighs in...

By Kendall Defoe Published about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
8
The Toronto Maple Leafs Haiku
Photo by Scott Gummerson on Unsplash

You only get three

lines: it's too funny for me;

too sad for your fans.

Golf, Leafs, Golf!

Note: I wrote this after the team choked out in the second round (their first time there in 19 years). As a Montréal Canadians fan, I try not to laugh at the bozos on blades...but it is hard to do so...

Right.

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentarysad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWomanabout a year ago

    Haha nice!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a good one! I heard this team didn't know there even was a second around, lol! I'm a fellow Canadian and I approve of this message! Nicely done Kendall!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well done!!! Left some love!!!💖💖💕

  • I love your Toronto Maple Leafs logos, especially featuring the golfer! And yes, Roy, there are no mulligans on Vocal, lol.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Can I only like this once? Damn! Ya gotta get back to those Scottsdale golf courses before they get too crowded Kendall! As a Habs fan who's been stuck in Southern Yawntario for waaaay too long I abhor the Maple Loafs and rejoice in their endless failures. I'm surprised they didn't award themselves Lord Stanley's cup for actually getting to the second round AND winning one game! Go Habs Go ❗❗ We live in hope of a return to glory...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.