Poets logo

The Time When I Went Crazy

Poem About High School Suicides

By Katherine KanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Time When I Went Crazy
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

It all started when I entered high school

So much homework

So much stress

So much pressure

Pressure from myself

Pressure from my peers

Pressure from my parents

Pressure from my teachers

Pressure about grades

Pressure about my future

Pressure about friends

Pressure about college

Pressure about everything

That’s when it started

That’s when I changed

Then something huge happened

Something I had never experienced before

Suicide.

It was someone I had only spoke to once or twice

Someone I passed in the hall everyday

Someone I had never given much thought

But now they were gone

Just this thought was hard for me to comprehend

A human life

Someone so young

Was gone forever

And that wasn’t even the hardest part

There was the tears and sorrow

Some on the faces of those I knew

Some on the faces of those I didn’t

I remember walking down the hall

Seeing everyone so broken down, crying

Then after the initial shock had worn off

There was the silence

I never really understood the term ‘deafening silence’

Until I heard this

In classrooms

In the hall

In the cafeteria

On the bus

No one said a word

No one knew what to say

After a week or so

People began to speak again

Everything seemed back to normal

But then it happened again.

And again.

And again.

That’s how it all started

That’s how I went crazy

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Katherine Kane

Nice to meet you, I'm Kat :)

Currently:

College Student | Dog Mom | Barista

Aspiring:

Marketer | Writer | Van-Lifer | Mom of More Dogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.