Poets logo

The tide turns

Piggy lives

By Katie Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The tide turns
Photo by Konstantin Evdokimov on Unsplash

I dared to go against the tide.

It threatened to pull me under.

The looks, the condemnation. The unrelenting shaming by the tide that declared me a danger to society.

Yet I continued to stand, resolute.

Now they cry forgiveness, how we should all stand together.

This, after wishing me and all like me, death.

They didn’t know, their vile words were spoken in ignorance.

The crowd mentality was upon them. Piggy needed to die. Their sharpened sticks in hand they were the ones in the right.

Now they see. Now they know.

And want us to forgive them. This while the narrative, try’s to shovel dirt over their crimes.

Where are you now Rachel Madcow?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.