Poets logo

The Thought Vehicle

#VocalNPM

By Allen D. LyonsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

These thoughts

These thoughts

They keep on fleeting

They flow from my head

To my arm

To my hand and my fingers

To my pen

They activate the ink

and spill out onto the paper

But how can they flee if there's nothing at the starting line?

Or when the starting line is fueled from the past thoughts?

Yet I can't find the paper they were spilled upon

How do I keep that fuel that rolls that fire?

All these questions

And the answers

They get the fuel gelling

But I know that that thought fuel,

as it passes from the head to the paper,

It travels through my veins

And those chemicals are at their stations

The fuel flicks their wicks

as it passes by

They ignite the chemicals in their canisters

The chemicals needed for inspiration and motivation

Chemicals called endorphins and serotonin

In which they travel back to my head

Into that starting line

And spark that ignition switch

Twenty-two questions

If only there were twenty-two answers

But all I can seem to find

are twenty-two catches

Some may call them excuses

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Allen D. Lyons

Author of Hostage 100 and Full Steam Ahead. Co-host of the Fatty/Slim Podcast

Instagram @throughthelyonsden

Facebook @throughthelyonsden

Twitter @AllenDLyons

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.