Poets logo

The Thought of Thinkers

Don't think about it

By Makenna BoltonPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1

I tread on the endless search

of the forbidden question why?

Infinite answers no right or wrong

and yet, the thoughts rudely pass by

This cannot be the reason I'm here

should my purpose truly be

to figure out the answer

everybody seems to need?

Why am I the only curious one

While others follow along

Sometimes I wonder if they're real

Am I right or am I wrong

Because this isn't like a fairytale

This life is not a dream

We think if we do what we're told

and drift silently down the stream

Then everything will be alright

and we'll finally reign supreme

How can we be so blind

Idiotically waiting for what it'll bring

We're controlled and owned possessions

We're the puppets on the string

So, yes, forever I will question

what made this come to be

and why do I get the feeling

everybody's watching me?

Stream of Consciousness
1

About the Creator

Makenna Bolton

Hi! My name is Makenna Bolton, I am 20 years old. I grew up in Wisconsin and in June I graduated from the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in LA; with an Associates in Dance and Theatre. As well as writing, I love acting, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    The paranoia here was so intense. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.