Poets logo

The Third

In the couple

By Katie Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Third
Photo by Scott Van Hoy on Unsplash

From the start, I knew, it was you and me.

Little did I know, that there was a third.

From the start, it was you and me, and the bottle.

Most times, you hid it well. This partner of yours. Always hidden and unseen.

Some times, I would join you in the dance, with the bottle.

Little did I know how much you leaned on this third, this abusive partner,

who always lets you down. Who always drags you down.

Little do you know, how you could lean on me, I would hold you up.

I know your love for me is strong, I know your need for the other is also.

If only I could have you without the other, this third in our lives.

But your dance with this partner, it seems, is not over.

Your slow dance of destruction, with no room for me.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.