Poets logo

The Things You Taught Me

As Small As They May Seem

By Hannah WolfePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes it may seem

Your words never got through

I make mistakes

But there's more to that truth.

It's the little things

That aren't as apparent

That get me day to day

From you my parent.

On my phone I set alarms

Five too many

But as you always said

There are never too plenty.

They keep you in line

Just like to do lists

I stay on time

And from you I learned this.

I suck with computers

Is what you might think

But to my friends I am the Google,

The technology shrink.

Even when I clean

I might seem crazy

Washing dishes so thoroughly

You would never think I was lazy.

I recite fun facts

I love to share knowledge

The feeling it gives me

Makes me want to go to college.

I feel so smart

In these small ways

Not because of me

But because of what you say.

The small things

That get me day to day

Is not because of me

But because of your ways.

You taught me efficiency

So I wouldn't stumble

You gave me confidence

But kept me humble.

My language exceeds

Most people my age

I always have to explain

To keep them engaged.

Even in my art

You shine through

Every movement is careful

From the lines I drew.

These things I learned

Small as they may be

Remind me of you

And the things you taught me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Wolfe

I only write what I feel because it's my truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.