Poets logo

The things I imagine

2 AM half awake

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
The things I imagine
Photo by alex mihu on Unsplash

Floorboards creaking

Wind howling

Faucet dripping

The things I here late at night

~

Is that someone stepping in my home

Is that something scratching on the wall

Whose getting a glass of water

The things I imagine late at night

~

What's that shadow dancing

What's sitting in my chair

Is there something stirring in my closet

The thoughts I have late at night

~

Is a person looking through my window

Who is in my chair

I think I see the closet door opening

The things I see late at night

Where's my phone? Where's my light?

Oh it's just the tree branches scratching the house

Oh it's just my clothes sitting in that chair

But wait, why is my closet still rattling?

I hear a soft meow and I relax

But wait I don't own a cat

This was an experiment in horror poetry. I may do more I don't know. I hope you enjoyed reading and if you did then please leave a like, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.