Poets logo

The things I burn...

To ash.

By BrettNotGregPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2

The flame that burns on the candle is reminiscent of your energy.

The melting wax is your flightiness, your inability to exist, the dissolution of something that seemed to firm and grounded.

Today I smudged my apartment from corner to corner. As the thick smoke filled my apartment, the aroma reminded me of the time I woke up to you smudging yours. I let the sage burn a little extra over things that have collected your energy, like that bag of clothes you gave me as some sort of parting gift. Ultimately, it made me feel lighter.

Speaking of lighter, at 2AM, I lit a cigarette. I remember how I was able to quit so easily while you were in my life in that respect. I never had a craving. Oh, but now I do. As the tobacco and paper burn, so does my desire for things to be different.

art
2

About the Creator

BrettNotGreg

Thirty-something creative with a wide spectrum of interests.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.