Poets logo

The Terrors that comes in the night

Sleep paralysis night terrors and nightmares combined.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Not quite awake nor fully asleep

I pray the Lord my soul to keep

The sensation of floating above the bed

Am I alive or am I dead

Hands grasp my body from beneath

Tightly in place they are holding me

So my soul does not escape

As theories in my mind take place

This was something I didn’t expect

Was I trying to astral project

I wake and wonder was it a dream

Or as real as it seems

Still can’t move or cry out

Sensing evil all about

Attempting to move I realize

Now it’s as if I’m paralyzed

Fighting to break free with all my might

From this terror in the dark night

The bed sinks the covers move

Non of this can I prove

Waiting it out in dread and fear

Praying the fiend does not come near

Suddenly I wake for real

The terror and panic I continue to feel

Sleep paralysis nightmares

Night terrors are not so rare

They take over the body and mind

Especially when they are combined

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomas2 years ago

    very very good job, very proud of you. keep it up being an inspiration, and an insightful writer. Please, & thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.