Poets logo

The Teen with teen

Teen is an archaic term meaning "suffering" or "grief", along with the modern definition of teenager. The term teenager makes sense, the age of suffering and grief. I was and always will be the teen with teen, with his little black backpack, baggage never to leave.

By HoaramPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Although it no longer digs my bones, the bag itself never leaves home.

Sometimes I look in the mirror and my reflection

is an imperfection of the soul that lies between those ears.

Long hair or cut, tattooed or none,

will my true reflection ever come anon?

Will I ever know who I really am,

with bloodied hands, I shout god-damned.

Many men are dying and I will not be like them,

I will carry my little black backpack, and all my precious emotion;

Despite every year of growing old and colder,

That little black backpack sits on my slim teen shoulder.

I am an adult and now I see

The world no longer lower,

but still I sit, bloodied and damned,

With the black backpack choking my shoulder.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Hoaram

Just trying to get by doing what I have a passion for. Please consider leaving a tip if anything I say stirs something inside you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.