Poets logo

The Sweetest Death

A Poem

By Claudette TPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

At a window he sits in silence, every night denying his hunger! No more blood mingling with his tears he cannot leave... no, he dare not go.

Dare not venture into the night

'til she came calling, her song so sweet stirring his long dead heart to life.

By day I sleep, at dusk, I rise in the city the fallen one roams the night slacking his hunger on the blood of innocent, relishing every bite.

She called through his mind She called through his pain, His tentative amour came. Tell me your name,

Her laugh came like honey dangerous and sweet a drugging sensation to lull him to sleep, A surprising monotone captivating his mind. To the sweet hint of danger, he was blissfully blind.

He glided he soared Not a cell screamed beware And a willing sacrifice entered her lair. He went on his knees like an eager human, presenting his neck She toyed with him a smile on face, while she took his body bout after bout.

Then she took his blood and ate his pain, satisfied in the darkness there they lay;

Her sweet voice came I am hunger

I am anger I am shame

I am the beginning of precious pain I am your capture!

I am the night.

while she held him shackled to her side.

I am human nature but also regret.

I am your end

My name is death!

And he snuggled closer mother and child:

With her face at his neck, he felt her smile.

He felt no fear, no anger. No lasting shame

Only the sweet stirring of precious pain Welcoming his capture as if she were the night. Letting her draw him slowly in.

His darkest love

his visage of hate;

touching his human nature long locked away and something. . . Unknown touched him.

Far from regret. . . willingly

He embraced his end

The sweetest Death.

***

Stay warm this winter, guys. I know I will now that I have my Lasko tower heater

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Claudette T

Writing has always been my passion and I would love to be able to write full time.

I’m inspired by the complexities that all humans endure and struggle to master in our quest for happiness, acceptance and success in our individual life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.