Poets logo

The Sunrise Must Set

So, we might as well appreciate it.

By Whitney CarmanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sunrise must set

I can already feel it coming

Contently I sit with myself, not ecstatic

Sullen, but not saturated

Someplace in between ‘can’t wait’

And ‘I never want this night to end’

I remember rushing the prep

Wanting it all to be perfect,

As if perfection would have made joy stay longer.

The happy endings that turned bitter

In the wake of the gathering,

I could only see the mess after everyone left.

The sunset will rise

As the moon chases the sun, or is it the other way around?

Sullen I sit with myself, detoxing from my dopamine cocktail.

The science of it, helps me stay nearer to reality

Someplace closer to gratitude than usual,

And I remember I have more to look forward to.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Whitney Carman

"...even if what I have written does not make sense to anyone--at least--it has helped me a little...And anything that can be whittled down to fit words--is not all madness."

-Lara Jefferson These are My Sisters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Bruce2 years ago

    Beautifully written. I love the wording sullen not saturated. I know that exact feeling. Keep writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.