Poets logo

The Sun, The Moon

Poetry about hurting and love

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Sun, The Moon
Photo by Jordan Steranka on Unsplash

"The moon is beautiful, isn't it?"

I whispered to you under the moonlight

Your face lit up when I told you it meant 'I love you'

Young and free, always together through it all

I remember feeling so in love with you

And years went by, we're still here

We sat under a shade, watching the sun rising up

"The sunset is beautiful, isn't it?"

I asked you, my heart breaking when you just smiled

Didn't ask me what it meant like the last time

I wondered if you still loved me like I love you

Before I knew it, you left me all alone

Under the droplets of rain pouring down on me

I watched you go, and I couldn't do anything

And I knew that you figured out what I meant before

And that was...

'I love you but I'm letting you go'.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.