Poets logo

The Sun Rises And So Do I

A poem for mornings

By Crystal JacksonPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
The Sun Rises And So Do I
Photo by William Christen on Unsplash

The morning kiss of cool air on skin

The warmth of the sun rising slowly into view

I’m drinking coffee and breathing in

But there was a time I would have wished for you

When morning thoughts meant you and me

And futures built themselves from dreaming

When I loved you effortlessly

Before I finally understood your meaning

Mornings were once a dark sad thing

Where I wished I could just go on sleeping

When my heart broke on another dream

I realized could not be mine for the keeping

Tired nights faded to weary waking

The brightness served to highlight my sorrow

Life was waiting, there for the taking

But I kept promising tomorrow

Now, I revel in mornings crisp and cool

Where the day awaits my wish and whim

I won’t play love’s lonely fool

I won’t put life on hold to dream of him

But will build dreams of my own making

I’ll feel joy in my breath and bones

Love will be mine for the taking

Because I’ll weave it into my life and home

The sun is rising, and I am, too

To walk the world with grit and grace

My thoughts might briefly land on you

I wonder if you feel the warmth upon your face

Or feel a chill and softly wonder why

As you turn in sleep or greet the day

The sun is higher in the sky

As I go to put this mug away

Inside, a puppy gives chase to children’s laughter

I feel love in each breath and in my bones

This is my happiest ever after

There is joy in this heart and home

More joy than I have ever known.

inspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Crystal Jackson

Crystal Jackson is a former therapist turned author. Her work has been featured on Medium, Elite Daily, NewsBreak, Your Tango, and The Good Men Project. She is the author of the Heart of Madison series and 3 volumes of poetry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.