Poets logo

The Sun is Shining

A "Sensory Poem"

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
2
The Sun is Shining
Photo by Kent Pilcher on Unsplash

The sun is shining.

I look up with squinting eyes .

Reflecting on the blue sky;

while white, cumulus, clouds

occasionally block the rays radiating upon my skin.

I stare at the colossal trees in my yard.

I go toward them.

Slowly walking barefoot through Bermuda grass.

When I arrive to the trees,

I choose the one that speaks to me with large branches.

Beckoning me.

I press the palms of both my hands into the outermost layers of stems and roots of woody plants.

I look toward the sun again.

Allowing the light and warmth to soak into my skin.

Melanin,

absorbing the light of day.

I close my eyes,

still feeling the heat from the Earth's star.

A gentle breeze from the east blows cooly.

Gliding past my left ear,

whispering to me.

To my right,

I open my eyes slowly.

Mind locking in on the sounds of Sparrows, Blue Jays, and Cardinals.

Listening to their soothing refrain.

They are singing to me.

Standing in the grass barefoot,

with the sun,

shining down

on me-AK

inspirationalnature poetry
2

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cezanne Libellenabout a year ago

    Warm, evocative, and so, so spring-y!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.