Poets logo

The Summer of Reckoning

Heed nature's call

By A.M.RadulescuPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
29
The Summer of Reckoning
Photo by Thomas Despeyroux on Unsplash

The wild horse beckons, showing me the way

through fields of lavender and patches of deep green

I walk gloriously barefoot, captive in a gentle sway

feeling the earth rolling, in this in-between.

*

Somewhere in the distance, a nightingale holds court

singing a song of haunting remembrance

from a time where man was nature's faithful consort

living in harmony and not being a hindrance.

*

The horse's neigh pulls me from the reverie.

Dazed but determined, I continue on my designated path

breathing in summer's sweet nectar like a vital energy

letting it cleanse me, so I can prove I'm worthy.

*

Majestic white stallion, thank you for the guidance

the time has come to broker a new and ancient alliance.

- to Mother Nature

Dear reader,

Once again I thank you for taking a leap with me. This is my first attempt at a sonnet (albeit it not in iambic pentameter), a tribute to Mother Nature, and a warning to man. If it sparked your interest, you can read more of my work here: https://vocal.media/authors/a-m-radulescu

inspirational
29

About the Creator

A.M.Radulescu

Certified bookworm, published author, hopeful dreamer, passionate traveller, cat lover, life enthusiast. Writing about life and self-growth. Get my debut novel at https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09JRJ3P5T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.