Poets logo

The Stray

by Daniel Power

By Daniel PowerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Stray
Photo by Külli Kittus on Unsplash

A dimension

Of guilt parades behind me

Collarless, he ways his tail

Puppy dog eyes

He demands my attentions

But the winds of change

Catch me, fill my sail

Still he swims behind

Not knowing I wander blind

All my attention I devote

To ignoring him

To sailing my boat

When finally I cave

Giving him the love he craves

My vessel becomes whole

Being forgiving, I fold

Guilt fades, becoming the way

All the worry and shame

Are cuddled and tamed

When I no longer defend

In the end

They're man's best friend

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Power

I'd like to share a collection of my poetry that I've written and accumulated throughout the years that may date all the way back to my days in grade school. I hope you enjoy your time spent perusing and pondering my mental meanderings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.