Poets logo

The Strawberry Seed

...

By Benjamin Butz-WeidnerPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
17

There is a strawberry seed

stuck

between my molars

this bitter kernel of fructose tomorrows.

Sunward searing -

down my lashes,

salt leans back into my eyes

-

quarried ocean brine

refracted through turgid time;

my sunroof is spider-webbed by

summer’s musings

spindled ‘round

that

Strawberry seed:

stuck-

between my left

molars, a strawberry seed

is stuck:

tomorrow,

through fruit found on roadside dunes

strawberries might sprout

Between my teeth

- there -

is stuck

a strawberry’s seed

surreal poetry
17

About the Creator

Benjamin Butz-Weidner

I've come here to tell my tales, and share my truths.

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/benbw63/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    Hey Benjamin! Great job ❤️❤️❤️ - Keep up the amazing work!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Your writing is very nice you write like this you will be a great writer And I was asked to do a story by going to my vocal ID

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh2 months ago

    Love the line, "this bitter kernel of fructose tomorrows." You have an intrigued new subscriber!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Really made me think of childhood summer pool memories at my aunts! Very good 😌

  • I really liked this! You painted a very vivid picture. Great poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Poetic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.