Poets logo

The story of my life

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a year ago β€’ 2 min read
Top Story - February 2023
69
The story of my life
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

The story of my life

is walking alone on a road

in the middle of the night

not sure if I can make it home

falling asleep before I get there

waking up in the morning, thinking

the sun was shinning just for me

then going to bed in the afternoon

too drunk to see

~

I have stood on mountain tops

with my arms raised to the sky

after climbing up one side

on scraped and bruised knees

just to watch myself fall

down the other side

~

I have dove in headfirst

without thinking

just so I could

sink to the bottom

let out the breath in my lungs

and start swimming again

~

I have assembled a series of mistakes

wrapped in accomplishments

gifts, I've placed under a

Christmas tree

in the corner of my heart

with lights

blinking off and on

with every beat

~

My past

is a movie

played on a silver screen

where nobody saw the ending

coming....

~

My future

is a blank space

filled with the hopes and dreams

of a place where

nothing's happened

~

My journey

is a curve

heading around a bend

waiting for a straight away

with a Mack truck coming

the wrong way...

~

My biography

is an equation

in a room

of mathematicians working

on white boards to solve it

when no one's told them

the solution is undefined

~

My epic

is a tale of adventure

written in a book, read by a librarian

to class of children, sitting on a rug

about a man who keeps choosing

his own path

no matter how far it leads him astray

~

My footsteps

are an odyssey

of a lost traveler

who has stumbled into a hole, fallen down

cried out for help, gotten back up, crawled

out of the hole, and thrown themselves

back down again

~

My spirit

is an old race car driver

racing long after his prime

refusing to believe his best days are gone

telling himself in every turn

he can still win

~

My wisdom

is an old hippie saying

"Moderation in everything, man"

and a terminally ill patient who

truly understands what it means

to never give up....

~

My adversity

is a cloud chasing a dream

across a blue sky on the edge of a storm

threatening to overtake a tranquil sun

shinning on the eve of an angry moon

when a hurricane is coming in the night

then standing in the aftermath

underneath an early morning light

thankful to be alive

~

My moral

is a line

from a Robert Frost poem

about a road not taken, and a

quote from a Maya Angelou

book about a caged bird

that still sings.

~

My conclusion

is the memories I leave behind

the lessons I teach my children

the love I will be remembered

for.

artvintagesocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirational
69

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I really love your use of simile in poem, it made your message relatable and compelling! My favourite stanza was β€œMy past is a movie played on a silver screen” because it felt so relatable to me. I feel like a lot of people often replay their failures and successes in their head, kind of like a movie. Or at least I do, so this part really caught my attention. You created such a beautiful, well thought out piece TIW!

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    That was incredible. You really spanned an amazing range of things in life, all rolled into one experience. So amazing!

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    love it

  • Elizabeth Hubbsabout a year ago

    Love this! Very inspiring. I relate to this piece in many ways.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very deep

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Each stanza added something new and meaningful! So many beautiful lines. Well done!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    I love this.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This poem tells a story of a journey filled with highs and lows, mistakes and accomplishments, and ultimately, a message of perseverance and hope.

  • Sawera Mushtaqabout a year ago

    This is so beautifully written!

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Beautifully crafted! Again Congrats for it should be on top most of Top story.

  • Diamondabout a year ago

    Beautiful ❀️

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    It's times like these when I'm so proud of my decision to join Vocal. This was truly an outstanding piece of art. It deserves to go places beyond Vocal. Very well done. πŸ₯‡

  • Muhammad Aliabout a year ago

    congrats

  • Li Maabout a year ago

    Outstanding Writing!!Congrats!

  • Ravishankar V Kabout a year ago

    Very well articulated. Congrats

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I don't know why I didn't read this sooner. Every stanza struck with ever increasing force and I was rapt in the rhythm. You earned yourself a ❀️ and subscription, my friend.

  • Samuel Oforiabout a year ago

    Thank you, well written

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the well-deserved top story

  • Testabout a year ago

    Great piece of work. Heartfelt and sincere.

  • Nedelcu Alinaabout a year ago

    Congrats! Love it 😍

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    This gripped my heart all the way through. The nod to Robert Frost’s β€œThe Road Not Taken” was particularly tugging… the anniversary of the death of someone I love is coming up and that poem was made into book marks and given out at his funeral.

  • Janelle Griggs about a year ago

    I loooovvveeeee this

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    I cannot locate the emoji for standing ovation but when I do I'll swap it out. That was so well done πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Lauraabout a year ago

    Amusing. Congrats

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.