Poets logo

The Story of Me

(condensed)

By Berdi DanielsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Story Of ME

(condensed)

I was born Spiritually Sensitive.

I could see and hear people that others couldn't.

When I was little, they called them imaginary.

They told me to not look at the spirits or talk to them,

They told me that nobody was there,

Then they began to tell me that I was crazy.

They couldn't bear the truths I told them,

They slapped me for 'making things up',

They told everyone who would listen that I was a liar.

"Don’t listen to her, she's always telling stories."

And they hurt me, they tried to crush me,

But no matter what they did, the visions wouldn't go away.

So they locked me up,

They told me I had a serious mental illness,

They gave me medication that drowned out the voices,

But the Spirits never left my side.

I knew that they wanted me to carry their messages,

But I couldn't allow myself to listen.

So bit by bit, I closed my Spiritual Channel.

I numbed my mind and ignored my dreams.

But, the stories still carried through.

I was full of other people's stories.

So, I began to write.

I became the best writer that I could.

I began to one at a time listen to the Spirits.

I began to ask them to tell me their stories.

I still believed it was all in my imagination.

I refused to listen to even the clearest omens,

I suffered horribly at the hands of abusers,

Who sought to extinguish the light that just wouldn't go out.

Occasionally something would happen,

That would blast the channel wide open,

And all of the voices at once would drown me, I had forgotten how to swim.

Without fail, it always spiraled,

Back in the hospital, new medications.

But the Spirits never went away.

It continued,

Life got more and more horrible,

I continued to lose everything that mattered to me.

The Dreams were growing ever more powerful,

The voices were starting to come through.

I felt my self spiraling again.

This time, instead of committing myself until the voices went away,

I committed myself to daily meditation,

Determined that if this was actually some malfunction,

It certainly would have gone away.

I surrendered to my gift and my fate.

I turned to the Spirits and asked what they wanted of me.

And the synchronicities began.

I began to clearly understand the signs and visions.

I willingly suspended the disbelief that had been trained into me.

I let go of my fear of insanity.

I stepped through the looking glass,

And I began to trance channel as well.

I have come to a place of deep gratitude,

A place where I can understand that all of the horrors I endured,

A place where I have found peace within my own soul,

Where I would find knowledge that I sought.

I had asked the Spirits who they were and why they wouldn't leave me alone.

They were just trying to tell me all that time.

Now, I open the channel deliberately,

I dedicate and meditate and do the work,

I write everything that I experience.

And I have been searching for a kindred soul,

Someone who understands the burdens and the blessings,

Someone to swap stories with.

I was led to you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Berdi Daniels

I am a spirit medium.

I am a student and a guide into the mystical realm of the Source Energy Of All Creation.

I am a survivor of domestic abuse who seeks to use her own story to help others escape their own plights.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.