Poets logo

The Steps I Climb

They Lead To Doors

By Melanie CranePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Steps I Climb
Photo by Daniel von Appen on Unsplash

The steps I climb, they lead somewhere

Somewhere from no where, I climb

I start counting them at 7, stop at 78

Alone I climb, not alone, but alone, I climb

The stairs keep going and I keep climbing

Looking for the one constant in those steps

I am the one constant. I keep climbing

They begin to reveal themselves at 75

They are becoming old and weathered

They are revealing their secrets, the old concrete

It is cracking under the weight of the weather

The old steps are decaying and the steps will fall

I reach 78. The stairs crumble under my footsteps

I step onto a platform safely and there is a door

"Come thru", says the sign on the door and I do

The stairs crumble and the pillars fall

And I begin the climb again on the other side of the door.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melanie Crane

I've been writing since the day I was born. It's a gift. Hopefully, there is something in my writing that appeals to you somewhere in your soul. Short stories, religion, poetry. Please enjoy my space and visit often. Thank you for visiting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.