Poets logo

The Stars and Beyond

Stars

By Ellis HughesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Stars

Someone once told that to look into the night sky is to look into the past

To behold the stars above and beyond you in an endless dark so vast

For the stars are light that reach us from a time we can’t comprehend

Waves that fracture and distill, twist, turn and bend

What does one behold when they look up into something that can turn into any shade?

Heaven, hell, dreams, nightmares or clouds just being made?

I look to the small crescent of moon and feel such awe

To be able to see something so incredible, such a phenomenon and something so far

I look at the planes full of people in our atmosphere flying to any destination

People in hope of an escape, going for business or maybe just a vacation

I feel so tiny and unextraordinary compared to the universe that lie beyond

This dazzling abyss with infinite capacity that I somehow feel so fond

But the stars still hold me in captivity for they shine and twinkle so bright

And they allow me to time travel as I gawk and stare at their ever dying light

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ellis Hughes

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old woman looking to become a poet and share my thoughts and feelings with the world. Please look through my work and let me know what you think!

Instagram: @elz_zia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Ellz.Bellz.Hughes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.