Poets logo

The Spectrum

Living Autism

By Monique GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Spectrum
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

On the spectrum, in a spectrum.

A collision of colours.

Curiously I watch from the outside.

It's hard to find a way in.

His colours erupt and converge.

I'm never sure what hues will be created today.

Raging colours, often muddied swirl through our home.

Situations cause reactions.

Reactions cause vivid explosions.

He sees red. Red becomes blacker.

The world becomes a little greyer as a heaviness settles.

Just as quickly, clear blue skies appear.

He retreats to his own world and the clouds melt away.

Warm yellow sunshine filters through the remaining clouds and, for now, all is well.

I'm proud to be part of his world.

I'm proud to journey with him as he grows.

It's not the world I hoped for, but it teaches me so much.

So many colours I never imagined I'd experience.

Hues and shades previously unknown.

I pride myself in beginning to understand his unique palette.

I let him know every colour has its value.

That moment, that colour, is accepted.

I pride myself in embracing this rich reality.

...

The pale orange light starts to fade affording me some time.

Coveted moments to record my own palettes.

The pages of my sketchbook remain my sanctuary.

I watch him sleeping; calm and at peace.

He has told me he is green when he sleeps.

I add green to my page, reminding me.

Growth, renewal, refreshment, newness.

Green will give way to morning, a new day.

New growth, challenges, colours.

Thankfully for now, inky blackness greets me.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Monique Green

Teacher, educator, creative, rainbow unicorn chaser...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.