Poets logo

The Southern Wind

A breeze of memories.

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
The lake at its serene most

Everyday I drive through an old road very few folks take,

And on that road, on the south side, lies a colossal blue lake.

Mystery surrounds the sight, as if it had a past that was haunted,

But beauty still resides in the icy blue, that at least can be said.

Each time I look at its waters, bizarre emotions rise in me,

As if I am getting a calling, a calling from the sea.

A wanderer I am, and strange roads I take, yet my heart yearns for more.

What end will my journey bring for me I don't know,

But a Southern wind blows from the north,

And it tells me of stranger roads to walk, and tells me of the sea.

The ghostly lake bores nought for me in its depth except a message,

Of which my mind has no understanding of but my heart does.

Serenity lies in it even in storm, is it the curse or a blessing?

Though my wisdom says neither is true,

As I have walked through paths more evil,

But still, it gives me a calling, a calling from the sea.

A wanderer I am, and strange roads I take, yet my heart yearns for more.

What end will my journey bring for me I don't know,

But a Southern wind blows from the north,

And it tells me of stranger roads to walk, and tells me of the sea.

Of mermaids and leviathans I have heard many tales,

Of pirates and Sea captains I have heard many songs,

Of abnormal faces in the water not yet dead, such stories been told,

Of abnormal discs that emerge from the oceans and disappear into the sky,

I have heard them all, and seen most.

Yet a strange calling I get, a calling from the sea

A wanderer I am, and strange roads I take, yet my heart yearns for more.

What end will my journey bring for me I don't know,

But a Southern wind blows from the north,

And it tells me of stranger roads to walk, and tells me of the sea.

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.