Poets logo

The Sounds of Summer

Mid-year 2022

By Ricky BluePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Sounds of Summer
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Condensation forms on my glass of iced coffee

I love watching the way you apply sunscreen

Light reflects off of pinwheels in front yards

Heat vapors bounce off the tops of new cars

Dandelions ride the wind, can I be that free?

A heat-induced delirium

But I don’t mind, I’m having fun

I’d rather keep an endless sweat

And melt away with you

Summer sounds like

Lying in the grass

Hoping to get past

The things that keep me up at night

Walking down the pier

Whispering in your ear

Asking you to stay the night

Promise me you’ll hold me tight

Walks at sunset, marbled skies, just like a dream

Laughing in your lap while we share ice cream

Pools sparkle and dance in the blinding sun

I’m burning up, my shorts are coming undone

Cotton clouds ride the wind, can you be that free?

A triple-digit fantasy

But I don’t mind, you’re here with me

I’d rather keep an endless sweat

Than dry up without you

Summer sounds like

Late-night nowhere drives

Picturing our lives

And the things that I can’t let go

Your eyes and your grin

And your lips on my skin

Crying ‘cause you just don’t know

How much I adore you so

Turn the page, keep me sane

Give me all your July rain

I’m your sun, you’re my moon

When I’m hot, you’re oh so cool

Caught up in a gust year-round

Simply waiting to be found

The sounds of summer keep me alive

Midday daydreams keep me alive.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 2 years ago

    I’m speechless after reading this! Well done! Bravo 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.