Poets logo

The Song

An Open Letter to the Best Friend Who Left

By Final ThoughtsPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Alice Moore on Unsplash

*LIVE READING OF WORK ATTACHED AT THE BOTTOM*

Just found the song you wrote me, read the lyrics out loud, this is breaking my heart. All the things you wrote down, all the things you said would bring us together are exactly what tore us apart. Did you mean it, was it true? Cause right now I just don't see. We were supposed to be sisters, best friends- but how can I be best friends with just me? We've missed out on so much, I've been through so much alone. My god, why won't you just answer the phone? I'm lost, I'm scared, I need you by my side, please come save me from this never ending ride. This ride of sadness, loneliness, bitterness, confusion; I feel like I'm trapped inside a house of illusion. One I built myself with bricks of love, but the foundation was built on lies and we both know it was never enough. Did you ever love me, or was I always just a chore? Forgive me for asking these hard questions, I'm just tired of being ignored. I'm trying not to give up, but lately, it's hard. I feel like I've been dealt a stacked deck of cards. Was this always your plan, to pick up and run away with my heart? If I'd have known that I wouldn't have pushed you, leaned on you, or asked you to catch me when I made a mistake. But now I'm alone at my own pity party eating stale cake, cause I've waited so long for you to come back. I should've realized sooner that you don't have a rear-view mirror. And the scary part is -the part that hurts the most- I'm not even mad at you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Final Thoughts

Hello creative minds! I hope you enjoy the words I have for you. Leave me a gift if you want to see more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.