Poets logo

The Snow Must Go On

Don't you wish your life was as simple as a snowflake's?

By Imani- AmourPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Right, I watch through window

the slow snowy miracle

plain white flakes glide down

graceful, effortlessly prominent, poised

and purposeless

in their silent left-right gliding descent

to the ground without a sound

Unlike in my head, no silence left

as I look to my left to find hectic

heaps of homework and thoughts

about the labourious deadlines

that leave my spirit dead, indeed

by robbing all time dedicated to my well-being

and feeding these hours to the

unquenchable monster of work obligations

But purpose lies in these many labourious deadlines

Lines of essay due tomorrow...and tomorrow...and tomorrow...

and tomorrow's purpose to me is unbeknown

But the show must go on

The snow must go on

almost mocking my fast-working fury with its slow steady pace

The flakes must fall

leaving me in awe at their perfect purposeless purpose

Making me wish my greatest feat was merely

a graceful, gliding left-right rhythm

floating between the clouds

instead of between deadlines

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Imani- Amour

Where I come to unleash the stories, analysis, poems and adventures that I daydream about when I should be studying Chem...adventure with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.