Poets logo

The Snake

A poem.

By Lizzy GabrickPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
1
The Snake
Photo by Jan Kopřiva on Unsplash

I have always found friendship to be a balance.

You have to give and take, that’s what keeps the whole thing working.

But you took what I offered

And then robbed what I had stowed away for a rainy day;

And ultimately stole the last of my caring heart from me

Until I had nothing left to offer but tears…

And you, you even took those.

And yet,

You spat them back in my face with poisonous,

Hurtful,

Jealous feelings

Because these were the only things that made you feel powerful.

I hope you have learned that being a good person

Doesn’t come from stealing another person’s goodness;

The truth is,

You have to earn that honor all on your own.

For more.

Stream of ConsciousnessinspirationalFriendshipFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Lizzy Gabrick

I spent many years reading and writing in my adolescence but have found inspiration has lapsed since I have become more settled into my adult life--a career and marriage. I look forward to changing that and sharing my creations with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.