Poets logo

The Skyline

A Poem

By Emma Shanley WilliamsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Skyline
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

I fell in love on the edge of the skyline dreaming with you

Of a world with no goodbyes

Staring up at the skyline.

I was looking up and down and all around

You were looking at me.

I never felt more free

than the nights under starry skies

Where the cigarettes were burned like those moments in our memories.

That golden age was just a page in the making of our history.

There were no guarantees.

But we felt so alive

And you said let’s go for a drive

To the edge of the skyline.

Wishing this could last forever

I said I’ll go with you wherever.

And then I fell in love on the edge of the skyline …with you

We bought some rings and people started talking

Built a family

And they found that shocking

I walked through fire and on a high wire with you.

We didn’t care what people were saying, you and I kept on praying.

We believed we could make it through to the other side

So we went for a drive.

And I fell in love on the edge of the skyline dreaming with you

Of a world with no goodbyes

Staring up at the

Skyline.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Emma Shanley Williams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.