Poets logo

"THE SINGING SEAGULLS"

"BREATHE THE SALTY AIR SIGH DREAM"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 7 months ago 1 min read

The seagulls fly

in the breeze.

I smell the salty air and sigh.

Freedom of the sea,

The seagulls sing

as they fly around me

in the euphoric zone

of a surreal reality

of being alone,

one with the sea

as the seagulls sing to me.

The short video was filmed with my cell phone when I lived in a fishing village long ago in South Texas. I would walk to the beach daily to visit my feathered friends. We formed a bond together. The seagulls would fly to my backyard every morning around 6 AM. They would sing to me with their loud singing voices to alert me that they were ready for breakfast. I loved them very much.

WRITTEN BY

VICKI LAWANA

AS I SIT HERE IN THE DESERT

DREAMING OF THE SEA.

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Paul Levinson7 months ago

    Love the poem! There's something really special about seagulls. I remember how impressed I was the first time I saw a seagull drop a clam or a mussel on a rock on the shore to get that tasty food inside.

  • Awww, I wanna be friends with the seagulls too! Loved your poem!

  • The beach is my favorite place to be. I feel at home there. Beautiful words!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Very nice. <3

Vicki Lawana Trusselli Written by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.