Poets logo

The Silence and the Morning

An Ode to my alarm clock

By William Saint ValPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Silence and the Morning
Photo by Bruno Guerrero on Unsplash

Wake up!

For almost two decades, you've held steadfast

No hint of a grudge though often you were bashed

Every dawn, you call, with a gentle chime

For me to face the day, whether with a frown or a smile

Tired eyes and sleepy mind, amidst the scurry

You ensure I was up, never late but sometimes in a hurry

Many roofs we've shared, in our passage of time

Still, faithfully you wake me, with your digital chime

A little wonky now, your voice a tad bit strange these days

Still every morn, it’s your tune that cues my day

You’ve fallen a few time, batter and bruised

Yet throughout it all, your time stay true

Oh, trusty companion by my bedside you lay

Our daily ritual, like a script so well played

Here's to you, my alarm clock, our journey unbowed

Thank you for the mornings, the silence, the loud

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

William Saint Val

I write about anything that interests me, and I hope whatever I write will be of interest to you too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.