Poets logo

The Shadow's Curse: My greatest fear

Conquering My Greatest Fear

By Vivid MasonganyikaPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
The Shadow's Curse: My greatest fear
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

As I walk through the darkness of the night,

I feel a chill that sends a shiver down my spine,

For in this place, there's something not quite right,

And a sense of danger that I cannot define.

The shadows flicker, and the wind begins to howl,

As I quicken my pace and try to stay calm,

But I feel a presence, and I know I'm not alone,

For something wicked lurks within this realm.

I turn around, but there's no one to be found,

Only darkness and the echoes of my footsteps,

But then I hear a whisper, a chilling sound,

And my heart races with a sense of dread.

I try to run, but my feet won't obey,

As I stumble and fall on the cold, hard ground,

And as I turn to face my greatest fear this day,

A shadowy figure begins to loom around.

It's the shadow's curse that has come to claim,

My soul and body in its dark embrace,

And as I struggle, it whispers my name,

And I know that I will never escape.

For it's the fear that lives within us all,

The fear that we cannot comprehend,

And in the end, it will be our downfall,

As we succumb to the shadow's curse in the end.

The figure's eyes, glowing like embers in the dark,

Fix upon me with an unyielding stare,

And I feel my will falter, my spirit stark,

As the shadow's curse begins to ensnare.

I try to scream, but my voice fails me,

As I feel its tendrils coil around my mind,

And I'm pulled into the darkness, unable to flee,

As the shadow's curse tightens its bind.

And in that place, I see visions of horror,

Of creatures that should not exist,

Of twisted beings that I cannot ignore,

And I know that I'm powerless in their midst.

For the shadow's curse is a trap that ensnares,

A nightmare that's too real to ignore,

And it feeds upon our deepest fears,

As we're swallowed by the darkness evermore.

But even as I feel my spirit slip,

And the darkness consumes me whole,

I know that I must resist its grip,

And fight with every ounce of my soul.

For there's a light that shines within us all,

A beacon that can guide us through the night,

And it's that spark that can break the shadow's thrall,

And banish its curse with a brilliant light.

So I gather my strength, and I take a stand,

Against the shadow's curse and all its might,

And with a fierce determination, I command,

That it release me from its deadly plight.

And then the shadows begin to fade,

As the curse is broken by my will,

And I feel the light of day, its warmth pervade,

As I emerge from the darkness, stronger still.

For it's the courage that lives within us all,

The courage to face our darkest fears,

And in the end, it will be our downfall,

As we triumph over the shadow's curse with cheers.

slam poetrysad poetryheartbreakart
Like

About the Creator

Vivid Masonganyika

Hi there! My name is Vivid, and I'm a professional comic writer based in Zimbabwe. I'm passionate about comics, health research, and love stories, and I love sharing my knowledge and experiences with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.