Poets logo

The Second Wolf

the fight inside

By S.K. WilsonPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
1
Inside each of us are two wolves …

Time once again to give in to me, to the darkness, feed me

Why must you do this? Will I never be rid of you, this hunger?

There is no escaping me, in the deepest places you know this

I fought you for many years, this is not a battle I will lose, never

Again! Again! Again! I will not and cannot be defeated forever

A last ditch attempt to deceive, weasel to the surface from your depth

The darkness here brings me strength, it will overwhelm your dull light

How I wish to be rid of you for good, you the cause of all my ill and woe

Yes, me all along, that creeping thought, that sudden sense of failure

But I have not failed, I am here, I am alive, that is your failure not mine

Fool! How long do you think you have left? How many more obstacles

As many as it may take to win, to destroy you once and for all, I will win

Light cannot win against the dark, just give in now, your light is doomed

Even a smallest glimmer of hope’s light washes away the dark like waves

No! I have worked too hard for you to do this, I was so close to victory

That was your undoing, when all was lost and I fell, you still attacked

Striking you when downed was the only path, you should have fallen then

Only the fallen may rise brighter than before, you pushed me over an edge

Into darkness, yes! That was it, how could you return? Lost in the dark

Too much force forms a rift, and cracks provide light, and light … hope

performance poetryStream of ConsciousnessMental Health
1

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, been dabbling in poetry.

Debut Arthurian fantasy novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

🩷

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.