Poets logo

The Search

A Poem about Love and Loss

By Matthew LeoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
The Search
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

This is one of the poems I crafted which very much wrote itself. I tried hard to keep a decent rhyming scheme, and said each line out aloud to make sure the pacing felt natural, with comfortable places to take a breath. It all fell into place quite wonderfully. I love the imagery this poem invokes in my mind, as I can see the captain very clearly in my mind's eye. Although not explicitly stated, his overwhelming feeling of sadness and loss was quite palpable. I think it's all of the implied textures of his pain that make me most proud of this piece.

The Search

Moonlight paves its luminous roads

Upon the decks of the worn ship.

Its rays dance before a man at the wheel,

A wilted rose in his grip.

Dressed in shreds of purple and white,

The man eyes the flower and kneels.

He squints and fails to kill a tear,

Then lays the dead rose upon the wheel.

© 2020 Matthew Leo

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Matthew Leo

Matthew Leo is an Amazon self-published author of "Zombies Don't Ride Motorcycles". I have written over 200 poems, and written numerous articles. If you enjoyed any article please let me know with a heart & for more content please tip.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.