Poets logo

The Seal show

Click. Photo.

By Pauline FountainPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

The longed for, realised ...

When I asked my son Ross what he wanted for his 16th birthday:

R: Just to spend a day at Sea World with you. You used to take me there whenever you could when I lived with Nan. I loved to see the polar bears and the Seal show!

P: I know. I can remember us one year in winter. It was freezing cold and raining but you were determined to see the new polar bear cubs. And so we waited and waited. Then decided to wait some more with our packed lunches and snacks. We were the only ones!

P: And then?

R: They came out and played and we had them all to ourselves!

P: You always laughed so much at the Seal show. Even though it was always the same. I wonder if it’s changed after all of these years?

****

For his 16th birthday, I purchased for both of us, the four theme park passes for a year.

We booked a unit via Airbnb in January the following year at Main Beach.

A longed for dream released. A three day freedom holiday with my son.

***

This photo?

Front row at the Seal show.

I ask myself: Is he remembering?

As I look at him I am drawn back in time and I am lost at the wonder on his face. I see before me our rare and precious times spent together.

Click. Photo.

This snap in time of him at the new Seal show at Sea World.

****

Ross at 16 years of age. [ 2019 ]

Pauline Fountain. © 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole2 months ago

    What a beautiful way of telling beautiful memories 😍 x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.