Poets logo

The Scheme of Things

to come...

By Wm Kucera Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Scheme of Things
Photo by Alek Kalinowski on Unsplash

I think it was just a dream

at least I hope it was

*

We were all gathered in a big hall

or could it have been a giant spaceship

*

There were all kinds there

Ex-Presidents, movie stars, famous athletes, and musicians

*

And the regular Joes and Jills

like me

*

A voice was saying something to the crowd

I couldn't see who was talking, but I could hear them

*

'No matter who you are, you are all equally important

to the whole scheme of things'

*

They kept saying it in different ways

How important we all were to this scheme of theirs

*

But something struck me wrong about it

I didn't want to be part of this scheme

*

I wanted to leave, but there were guards of some sort

And the thing was, they never really told us what this scheme was

*

I woke startled in my bed

I'm pretty sure it was a spaceship -- after all

performance poetrysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Wm Kucera

https://www.facebook.com/WmKucera

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.