Poets logo

The Scent of You

Why don’t you leave?

By Sukie HarperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
The Scent of You
Photo by JD Weiher on Unsplash

I can still smell you in my car.

That crisp clean scent. It reminds me of the way it used to be so strong in my own skin. Do you think that I imagine it? That I cling to it as a way to keep you with me? I can’t believe that I do. I know it’s been so long, it’s surely faded out of the seats but…

I can still smell you in my car.

Oh, it brings a tear to my eye. The way I breathe you in only to imagine your smell staining the seats of another, the skin of another. Brief glimpses into where you must be right now, because you’re no longer beside me. It’s moment like these when I wonder if you can still smell me, see me, taste me. Yes, it’s these moments when…

I can still smell you in my car.

Do you look back fondly on the memories we shared? The long drives and late nights spent only in eachother ‘s company? I do. I remember them with such affection, there are moments I can scarce believe it. The way I was so sure I could never feel that way about a person, and now I know that I never can again because…

I can still smell you in my car.

Now, I’m left alone. Without your company, I drive with only my thoughts and remnants of what was. Haunted by the ghost of you, but you’re still living. I miss your voice; I hear only echoes. I miss your caress; I feel only lost touches. I miss your kiss; I can only taste my own.

But I cannot miss your scent because…

I can still smell you in my car.

heartbreaksad poetry
3

About the Creator

Sukie Harper

I like to put pieces of myself into my writing. Sometimes it's a finger, sometimes a toe, but it's always something that gets stuck to the roof of your mouth and leaves a lingering feel in your gut.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ms. Rodwellabout a year ago

    <3 wow

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Simply beautiful... i can feel your moments!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.