Poets logo

The Scarab and the Hawk

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
9
The Scarab and the Hawk
Photo by Kim O’Hara on Unsplash

Two talismans

With me for the darkest period of my life–

One high in the sky, watching me

The other,

Burrowing beside me in the earth below.

*

Was I the scarab?

Crawling blindly through the dirt, unable to see

While at the same time, watchful eyes held me close?

Or was I the hawk–

Knowing all the time

The detour I was taking

But still pretending to lose my way,

Knowing somehow, someway, out of the dark

I would be

Reborn

*******

🪲 The Scarab (or the dung beetle) – an ancient Egyptian symbol of survival, rebirth, and transformation

🦅 The Hawk – a totem animal representing freedom, with “clear vision,” “deep understanding” and a “keen sense of where it is going” (mindbodygreen)

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Or might you be the scarab reborn & transforming into the hawk flying free with great vision?

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great work!!!

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Knowing that you're also the phoenix :) That would be an unshakable trinity!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Oooh, like this one. Very surreal and philosophical!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.