Poets logo

The Sandman's Dance

A night's dreams

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
16
The Sandman's Dance
Photo by Pelly Benassi on Unsplash

The sandman is dancing again

my mind weary, my eyes heavy

deeper I go, legs churning, arms swimming

blackness surrounding, I sink down

in the land of dreams.

Wind brushes cold against my cheek

my arms stretch out from my sides

my feet balance on the ledge

rising just above the roof

buildings trail off into the horizon

trees in a concrete jungle

my body leans forward, I swan dive

into the city air, ground below, sky above

I fall.

I know why the caged bird sings,

why the falling man doesn’t scream

freedom of mind is the last taken.

How will it feel when concrete collides

with collagen, and calcium phosphate?

I distract my fate with a lyric

Blue skies, nothing but blue skies

smiling at me...

Running, my feet beat a steady rhythm

against poured asphalt, anxiety pulses

in every beat of muscle inside my chest

a mix of water and salt dampen my body

I push for speed, for time to slow, I am gliding

floating above my feet, a rocket across land

thundering to reverse the clock's hands,

to quiet the thoughts SHOUTING,

you’re late

almost there, destination ahead, you have arrived

blank eyes staring, heads turning, fingers pointing

hands on knees, breaths heaving, I am exhausted

looking down, my naked body glares back at me

rosy red appears on placid cheeks, heat flushes on skin

I am an inferno of mortified humiliation wrapped in shame

laughs, giggles, chuckles, I WANT TO Disappear

vanish, never be born, please....PLEASE

make this go away.

Her hand, slips inside mine, she leads me

across summer fields, a glare of sunlight

partially obscures the blue in her irises as

she glances back over her shoulder

my heart flutters

with each smile she gives, blades of grass

tickle at my legs, as she takes me further

the calm water of a lake grows near in the distance

arriving at it's shore, she takes both my hands in hers

granules of sand press warm between my toes

she looks at me then leans back arching her chin up

we move without speaking turning in circles

her face points to the sky, her gaze on the heavens

her hair falling down beneath her

almost touching the ground

we spin, our arms outstretched

the scent of her perfume, vanilla with lavender

floats in the air

a breeze blows in off the water

leaves rustle on tree limbs

Why do birds suddenly appear

every time you are near

Karen Carpenter, sings on a radio

Just like me, they long to be, close to you

we stop turning, our bodies gravitating

magnetic forces drawing closer, my eyes search hers

our lips closer, my mouth dry, the world

fading away.

Hot breath, putrid with sulfur

steams through the dark, a monster is

emerging from a black abyss, Fe fi fo fum

a GIANT is smelling my blood.

Crows fly across a darkening sky

black specks on a visceral night

vultures cover every inch of earth

spreading out in every direction

blocking any possible escape

I look on in horror as

hooked beaks pick tender morsels,

of everything I have ever known

death envelopes my existence

I turn at the sound of a demon approaching,

a hellscape sweeps red hot fire across my skin

my fists close tight, I will die fighting

my demon appears out of Hell’s depths

long sinuated muscles stretch across

limbs culminating in clawed hands and hooved feet

hot air rises from nostrils, caverns in a horned skull

jagged teeth gnash, blades in an elongated snout

my demon comes.

The sandman is dancing tonight

to bring you fright or delight

I must wake up, I must open my eyes

before The Sandman's song, traps me

with an endless sleep

hurry, climb higher, my voice narrates

inside my mind, quickly now

before the demon takes hold.

My room appears, my conscious heavy

I drift between sleep and waking,

the dream still fresh in my mind

The Sandman slowly releases me back

I sit from my bed, to look out my window

wishing I was still by the lake.

vintagesurreal poetryperformance poetryart
16

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Wow talk about a dream worth interpreting! There is so much to absorb and ponder from they journey you took us on Will! It was ethereal, melancholic and magical. I love the places you took us with this one!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Wow! This one was all over the place. So much depth and so much to ponder. Dreams are our subconscious trying to say something.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Woah. That was so fun and intense.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    < New Subscriber! This is such an experience to read! It's meter is perfect and your grasp of imagery is impeccable! I LOVE this!!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Ahh loved this!!! I really enjoyed the reference to Jack and the bean stalk with fe fi fo fum :)

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Wow! This was vivid with a good amount of intensity. Loved it!

  • Whoaaaa, my head's spinning, lol! That was one heck of a ride! I loved it!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my. What a ride! Very well done.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Great job!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is awesome! Definitely a wild and crazy ride! Beautiful at the same time. Well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Holy cow!! That was a crazy rollercoaster!! I have music in my dreams too. Great entry for the challenge :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.