Poets logo

The Salty Snack That Always Gives Back

A poem about my favorite childhood snack

By Matthew MccaheyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
7
The Salty Snack That Always Gives Back
Photo by Wesual Click on Unsplash

I’ll start with one word, Salty

The kind of snack that hits the spot

Makes my brain go faulty

Pretzels are the snack I bought

They come in all shapes and sizes

You can dip them in chocolate or strawberry

Oh lord they are full of surprises

They never failed to make me so merry

After a long day in the sun

Or during a baseball game

Pretzels bring a sense of fun

Honey mustard with some salt gives them fame

Pretzels were always cheap

Something I noticed as a child

Back when lack of money made my mom weep

She always bought my pretzels and smiled

Those salty snacks always kept me content

Even when the days started to get dark

Those warm baked pretzels with mustard dip had one hell of a scent

Pretzels kept me going through my healing arc

For Fun
7

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Pretzels - I like the new form also the super thin pretzel like crackers. Pretzel bread from German bakery is delish too!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    And now I want pretzels 🥨

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Yes! Pretzels!!! We always had pretzel in Pennsylvania. Loved your fun and entertaining poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    I could SMELL these, took me right back to Munich!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.