Poets logo

The salty coastline

Portland, Maine

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The salty coastline
Photo by Karl Magnuson on Unsplash

The salty coastline

Portland, Maine

I sat here to take a rest.

I can’t walk the rest of the way.

I want to write about all the colors and the beauty hidden in this city.

Right now I can’t though,

The fog still hasn’t lifted.

But it’s still early.

It’s early enough for the city though.

Coast life. Tourist; people, cars, rucks, police and fire engines going by.

Heard over my headphones.

I could go on but Ill spare you the details.

Yuck, I hate crowds.

There goes the kids train we have that runs here in town,

Another hidden gem.

A very small old working train we have.

Takes kids and their family probably one to two miles total?

Kids love it.

It’s cute.

Pass by the water and the beach.

I wish this fog would burn off, I want to go to the beach.

I’m Irish but somehow even paler.

Maybe because I'm growing frailer?

I don’t know

I’m not going to try thinking that way,

Get out of my mind.

The fog is from the wildfires.

I don't think this is going to burn off like normal.

This season is a fantasy.

We have everything, today is just an off day.

Oh well, I’m walking home.

Good luck everyone.

-ej

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.